H E R E A F T E R


August 22, 2012

 

Hereafter

 

Barred walls real as cloud frames on sky

Door free and open as fields that grow

Wind blowing dust on pavement gray

And chains on feet to ground below.

 

Must I die now? Do I dare so?

My heart, speak not!  My mind, shout go!

Dare the woods and trail of thorns

No coming back, breathed holes in trough.

 

Every leap,  time seething  by

Umber wet; bones scald in marrows

Heal threads of seas – You and I

Catching snows and flowers on mouth.

 

When are you just coming back?

How many all, stars I’ve counted?

Mounted on breasts, navel and spirit

My flesh, arrows spiked tombs and fane.

 

 

 

 

Incandescent fire and tender bliss

Know I live only for a time:

As a wick fades, my flesh ends

And next, a  yellow sunset fence.

 

Seeds grow in umber fanes gold

Hands, waves on shores not weary up

Only human, I am so,  un-god

Of myth, limbs so frail, nailed gravity.

 

 Succulent fruit of red and after

Mind drifts impure, feculent thief;

Vines that crawl like serpent beasts

Thy sword, Saint Michael, in your fist!

 

O Holy God, Almighty One,

I search your light, Thy will be done

If after all, I must complain

Take all away, but You remain.

 

Rosevoc2.082212

Leave a Reply

